Dear Members:

Broliminan, Bound Booulto

The 2025 MBA Masters Invitational was the MBA's 5th stop of the season at Parkway Lanes in Mishawaka with 45 bowlers participating. We would like to thank James & Nicole Adams for hosting this event. Also, the MBA would like to give special thanks to Travis Ruthruff of T"s X-Factor Pro Shop for sponsoring the event and Lori Ruthruff of Crown Trophy for providing the spectacular trophy to the winner! This tournament was contested on the 2007 EBT Hammer Bronzen Schietspoel - Long pattern, which is a Challenge Shot and a 45-foot pattern. This is the first time that the MBA used this pattern. Aaron Phillips had the tournament high game of 289 in the qualifying round and it took a score of +109 to cash and +154 to make the top 8 match play finals.

The next regular tournament will be held at Olympia Lanes Michigan City on January 19th, 2025 at 9:00 a.m. Central Time (10:00 Eastern). As always, check-in by 8:15 and 8:30 if prepaid.

Place	ary Round Results Name	Hometown	Class	Plus(Minus)	Cash
1	Cory Hersha	South Whitley, IN	A	263	Casil
2	TJ Schmidt	Granger, IN	A	203	
3	Jeremy Delcamp	Bristol, IN	B	199	
4	Joe Hutchings	Marshall, MI	B	172	
5	Lucas Claxton	Elkhart, IN	E	172	
6	AJ Roche	South Bend, IN	B	172	
7	Phil Vincze	Elkhart, IN	B	159	
8	Aaron Phillips	Grand Haven, MI	A	158	
9	Jim Artley	Elkhart, IN	D	154	\$125.00
10	Rickey Sutton Jr	South Bend, IN	E	123	115.00
11	Nathaniel Crosbie (y)	Osceola, IN		123	110.00
11	Nathaniel Crosble (y)			117	SMART
12	Aaron Smith	Elkhart, IN	С	113	102.50
13	Terrence Smith	South Bend, IN	D	113	102.50
14	Chris Hartung	Elkhart, IN	A	110	95.00
15	Matt Roberts	Mishawaka, IN	F	109	90.00
16	Scott Gilmore	West Lafayette, IN	В	102	
17	Kevin Beckman	Watervliet, MI	E	83	
18	Bill Rath	Stevensville, MI	F	68	
19	Dale McClosky	Elkhart, IN	F	66	
20	Don Buczynski	Osceola, IN	E	63	
21	Mikey Schlabach	Wakarusa, IN	A	50	
21	Brian Rak	Portage, IN	В	50	
23	Richie Benninghoff	South Bend, IN	A	47	
24	Glen Hershberger	Elkhart, IN	F	43	
25	Dennis Weatherman	Stevensville, MI	С	32	
26	Eddie Sheler	South Bend, IN	F	25	
27	Brandon Baker	Osceola, IN	В	13	
28	Ken Kennedy	Niles, MI	E	11	
29	Brandon Rath	Stevensville, MI	D	10	
30	Joey Martin	South Bend, IN	A	6	
31	Jason Flaugh	Avilla, IN	A	4	
32	Sam Ferrah	Elkhart, IN	D	(4)	
32	Jeff Artley	Elkhart, IN	D	(4)	
34	Jim Nadolny	Mishawaka, IN	E	(11)	
35	Steve DePoy	Jackson, MI	D	(13)	
36	Dan Symonds	Berrien Springs, MI	F	(17)	
37	Chelsea Farrell	Elkhart, IN	С	(30)	
38	Matt Hendrixson	Stevensville, MI	D	(34)	
39	Antonio Wilson	South Bend, IN	F	(48)	
40	Mike Hartman	South Bend, IN	D	(50)	
41	Mark Million	South Bend, IN	В	(63)	
42	Joey Juday	Elkhart, IN	В	(86)	
43	Nate Fisher	LaPorte, IN	A	(182)	
44	Joe Buczynski	Osceola, IN	D	(207)	
45	Jason Utter	St. Joseph, MI	С	(222)	

Match Play Results

Opening Round

Jeremy Delcamp def. Aaron Phillips 459 – 393 Phil Vincze def. Lucas Claxton 401 – (312 + 18) 330 Aaron, Joe each received \$150; Lucas received \$150 SMART

Quarterfinal Matches

Phil Vincze def. Jeremy Delcamp 408 – 402 Jeremy and AJ each received \$225

Semi-Final Match

TJ Schmidt def. Phil Vincze 479 – 458 Phil received \$300

Championship Match

TJ Schmidt def. Cory Hersha 458 – 432 TJ received championship trophy and \$700 Cory received \$375



From Left; TJ Schmidt – Champion; Lori Ruthruff – Crown Trophy; Travis Ruthruff – T's X-Factor Pro Shop; Greg Spinner – MBA Executive Director; Cory Hersha – Runner - Up

Items of Note:

Aaron Phillips – 289, 257 Jeremy Delcamp – 267 TJ Schmidt – 258 Phil Vincze – 255

Re-Rates:

Lucas Claxton – E to D Class; 195 Average Nathaniel Crosbie – F to E Class; 191 Average Steve DePoy – D to E Class; 179 Average

Here are the Re-Rate rules taken from the By-Laws.

New members will be subject to upwards reclassification after their first tournament. Existing members will be subject to upwards reclassification after their first two tournaments. After meeting the preceding requirement, any member whose season adjusted average (true bowling average plus 1 pin for each \$300 won (money pins)) exceeds the bottom of the next higher class plus three pins will be rerated to that higher class. If their season adjusted average exceeds the bottom plus 3 of the next two (2) higher classes, they may be re-rated 2 classes, subject to a meeting by the board of directors.

Cory Hersha - 269, 253

Terrence Smith – 266

Ken Kennedy – 256

Chris Hartung - 252

- a. The above ruling on re-rating does not apply if you have not **cashed** any tournament, **since your last re-rate** during the current season.
- b. If you have bowled three (3) tournaments, since your last re-rate during the current season, have not cashed, and your season adjusted average is below the bottom of the next lower class, you will be re-rated down one class

AJ Roche def. Joe Hutchings 409 – 405

TJ Schmidt def. AJ Roche 445 - 426

Michiana Bowlers Association Newsletter

January 13, 2025

c. If you have bowled minimum of three (3) tournaments, since your last re-rate during the current season, have not cashed, you can request consideration for a re-rate down one class. This would need to be approved by the board. If granted, the bowler would be eligible for re-rate back up after one (1) event if their average warrants. This will be allowed once per season. The intent of this rule is to give a bowler some relief if they have not come close to cashing and aren't close to earning the automatic re-rate down.

Upcoming Tournaments:

Olympia Lanes – MC, Michigan City, IN January 19, 2025 starting time 9:00CT – Pattern Kegel Challenge – Broadway (50uL); 37ft., 4.09:1 Casey's Lanes, LaPorte, IN February 16, 2025 starting time 9:00CT (10:00 ET) – Pattern 2020 Indy Medium; 41ft. 4.40:1 Parkway Lanes, Mishawaka, IN March 16, 2025 starting time 9:00 – Pattern 2020 SYC Northrock Long (46 ft; 4.17:1)

See you there, Greg Spinner

