#### Dear Members:

The MBA Tournament Players Championship sponsored by Motiv Bowling was the final stop of our47th season at Strikers Bowl in St Joseph, MI. We would like to thank Motiv for being our corporate sponsor as well as Bill Froberg and his staff for hosting the tournament! We had 42 bowlers bowl our final tournament for the expanded prize fund with a top prize of \$1,200!! The Bowler of the Year race was also decided by the results of this tournament with 3 bowlers in contention to win. In the end, Mikey Schlabach came away with his 2<sup>nd</sup> consecutive Bowler of the Year title. We also finished the Val Medich Sr. Sportsmanship Award Ballot with Jeff Cichos receiving the award!

The pattern for the Championship Tournament was the 2011 USBC Women's Open Championship Pattern which was a 40 foot pattern. This pattern seemed less difficult at first, but seemed to get more difficult as the day wore on with scores dropping towards the end of the qualifying round. Low to cash was +58 and it took +69 to make match play. Congratulations to Bill Froberg winning his 2<sup>nd</sup> straight tournament and his 15<sup>th</sup> overall title!!

# Qualifying Results:

Place	Name	Hometown	Class	Plus(Minus)	Cash
1	Mikey Schlabach	Wakarusa, IN	Α	240	
2	Joe Buczynski (youth)	Osceola, IN	D	197	
3	Chuck Trennepohl	Elkhart, IN	С	170	
4	Billy Froberg	Stevensville, MI	Α	163	
5	Albert Giersberg	South Bend, IN	С	131	
6	Dave Matheny	Coloma, MI	В	124	
7	Chris Hartung	Goshen, IN	Α	101	
8	AJ Roche	South Bend, IN	В	85	
9	Matt Hendrixson	Stevensville, MI	С	83	
10	Tyler Caudill	Goshen, IN	D	71	
11	Dennis Weatherman	Stevensville, MI	В	69	
12	Sam Ferrah	Elkhart, IN	D	69	
13	Aaron Phillips	Grand Haven, MI	Α	62	\$150
14	Russell Huneryager	Porter, IN	E	58	125
15	Neil Vitale	Benton Harbor, MI	F	54	
16	Billy Hendrixson	Stevensville, MI	В	48	
17	Joe Hutchings	Marshall, MI	В	45	
18	Tony Ferro	Elkhart, IN	С	36	
19	Jasmine Collins	Michigan City, IN	G	30	
20	Karl Sutton	Portage, IN	Е	16	
21	Dan Symonds	Berrien Springs, MI	Е	15	
22	Jeff Cichos	LaGrange, IN	С	5	
23	Glen Hershberger	Elkhart, IN	G	(2)	
24	Micah Carter	South Bend, IN	D	(6)	
25	Bruce Burkett	Decatur, MI	F	(8)	
26	Nate Fisher	LaPorte, IN	Α	(11)	
27	Travis McKinney	LaPorte, IN	С	(17)	
28	Rich Benninghoff	South Bend, IN	Α	(25)	
29	Corey Fister	Coloma, MI	F	(29)	
30	Andrew English	Portage, MI	Е	(53)	
30	Dustin Maurer	Battle Creek, MI	D	(53)	
32	Steve Tobolt	LaPorte, IN	Е	(54)	
33	Bill Tusin	Cassopolis, MI	D	(66)	
34	Alex Walters	Mishawaka, IN	С	(95)	
35	Jim Nadolny	Mishawaka, IN	С	(103)	
36	Matt Robergs	Mishawaka, IN	D	(115)	
37	Robert Corvin	Bristol, IN	F	(149)	
38	Dean Newell	South Bend, IN	D	(161)	
39	Jimmy Clark	Elkhart, IN	Е	(166)	
40	Jim Artley	Goshen, IN	Α	(172)	
41	Bryson Randol (youth)	LaGrange, IN	Е	(186)	
42	Jeremy Delcamp	Goshen, IN	Α	(195)	

Mailing Address: 1505 Marigold Way #311, S Bend, IN 46617 Phone: (574) 276-7400 E-Mail: bowl@mba300.com
Twitter: @MichianaBowlers Facebook: Michiana Bowlers Association Website: http://www.mba300.com

E-Mail: bowl@mba300.com

Website: http://www.mba300.com

### Match Play Results:

Round 1

AJ Roche def. Matt Hendrixson 202 – (155 + 4) 159 Sam Ferrah def. Albert Giersberg (246 + 9) 255 – 191 Matt, Dave, Albert, & Tyler each received \$175 Dennis Weatherman def. Dave Matheny (256 + 6) 262 – 226 Chris Hartung def. Tyler Caudill 181 – (154 + 16) 170

Round 2

Chuck Trennepohl def. AJ Roche 245 - (177 + 5) 182 Bill Froberg def. Chris Hartung 246 – 170 AJ, Dennis, & Chris each received \$200 Sam Ferrah def. Dennis Weatherman (224 + 9) 223 - 173

Quarterfinals

Bill Froberg def. Chuck Trennepohl 186 – 179 Chuck received \$300, Joe received \$300 SMART Sam Ferrah def. Joe Buczynski (youth) (168 + 14) 182 – 168

Semifinals

Bill Froberg def. Sam Ferrah 228 – (166 + 16) 182 Sam received \$425

**Finals** 

Bill Froberg def. Mikey Schlabach 255 -163Bill won his  $2^{nd}$  consecutive and  $15^{th}$  MBA Title, received the championship plaque and \$1,200 Mikey received \$600

# **Items of Note:**

Bill Froberg – 278, 255, 250 Dave Matheny – 263 Joe Hutchings – 258 Dennis Weatherman – 256 Mikey Schlabach – 265, 256 Jeff Cichos – 258 Chuck Trennepohl – 258

## **Final Bower of the Year Results**

Place	Name	Points
1	Mikey Schlabach	1,766.19
2	Nate Fisher	1,426.27
3	Andrew English	1,097.49
4	Joe Buczynski Jr	1,029.23
5	Bill Froberg	938.84
6	Alex Walters	863.90
7	Jim Artley	794.38
8	Chuck Trennepohl	753.57
9	Micah Carter	732.63
10	Chris Colella	727.01

## For the complete Bowler of the Year Point List, please see www.mba300/boy.

The MBA Board will conduct our annual summer meeting next month on June 22, 2022. At this meeting we go over the next year's tournament schedule, changes or updates to the By-Laws, and the repositioning of classes as it relates to the average required for that class and the positioning of bowlers in classes for the next season. Should you have any ideas or suggestions to help make our organization better, please feel free to drop us an e-mail, text, or phone call. We welcome all constructive suggestions!!

All bowlers' classifications will be re-evaluated at the summer meeting to determine their classification for the 2021 – 2022 season. Your next season's classification will be based on your MBA performance over the previous two (2) seasons. If you bowled less than 3 tournaments this past season, your classification will be based on a true composite of your league averages for the previous 2 seasons adjusted from house to challenge (roughly a 14 or 15 pin difference).

Mailing Address: 1505 Marigold Way #311, S Bend, IN 46617

Twitter: @MichianaBowlers

Phone: (574) 276-7400 Facebook: Michiana Bowlers Association We will also be looking to add one or possibly two board members for next season. If you are interested in becoming part of the board, please submit an e-mail to <a href="mailto:bowl@mba300.com">bowl@mba300.com</a> indicating your interests as well as letting us know your bowling background/knowledge of bowling rules and/or tournament operations to be considered.

If you can think of any rule changes for us to consider, please let us know via text, e-mail, or sending a message on the website. You can drop us a comment at <a href="https://www.mba300.com/contact">www.mba300.com/contact</a>. The contact form is under the "About" drop down item on the website.

Thank you all for your continued participation and we look forward to seeing everyone in September as we kick off our 46<sup>th</sup> season!!

Thank you all, Greg Spinner (574) 276-7400



Mailing Address: 1505 Marigold Way #311, S Bend, IN 46617

Twitter: @MichianaBowlers

Phone: (574) 276-7400 Facebook: Michiana Bowlers Association E-Mail: bowl@mba300.com Website: http://www.mba300.com